Welcome to Our Site
bullet Home
bullet Scope of Council
bullet Constitution
bullet Office Bearers
bullet Registered Employers
bullet Agreements
bullet Documents / Reports
bullet Policies
bullet Parties to Council
  ..- Chambers
bullet Vacancies
bullet Disputes
bullet Forms
bullet Related Links
bullet Contact Us


The Labour Relations Act provides for self-regulation of industries through the medium of the Bargaining Council. NBCWPS provides the following services to its parties and non-parties, who are covered by its scope:
  • Forum and facilities for Collective Bargaining
  • Resolution of labour disputes e.g unfair Labour practices, unfair dismissals, interpretation and application of collective agreements etc.
  • Enforcement of collective agreements through designated agents employed by the Council.
  • Forum and process to negotiate and regulate employee benefits (pension, medical aid etc) for the whole sector or chamber.
  • Deal with applications for exemptions on collective agreements
  • Make inputs and proposals on policy and legislative developments on labour relations through NEDLAC.


The Council is constituted on the basis of equal representation in terms of both the Employers and Employee representatives. All registered Employers in the sector qualify to join the Council either as a party (through a specific industry employer association) or as a non-party. Trade unions wanting to be party to the Council must at least have membership of 1000 employees in the sector.

Levy contributions are equally shared between the employer and employees. For employees employed by an Employer who is party to the Council, their contribution is R6 from the employee and R6 from the employer with the overall contribution being R12.00 for an individual employee. Employees in employment of the Employer who is either a non party or themselves are not members of the trade unions that are parties to the Council are levied R3 with their employer paying the same amount for an individual employee. Overall their levy is R6.00.

?2007 National Bargaining Council for the Wood and Paper Sector